Root NationMobile GadgetsSmartphonesSamsung Galaxy S24+ review: a proven formula for success

Samsung Galaxy S24+ review: a proven formula for success

-

Looking for a smartphone with decent hardware, long-term support, guaranteed updates, and artificial intelligence? Samsung Galaxy S24+ is one of the best choices.

Samsung has not changed its strategy regarding flagship smartphones from the Galaxy S family. Again, we have three models: the cheapest and relatively compact Galaxy S24, the slightly larger Galaxy S24+, and the absolutely uncompromising Galaxy S24 Ultra. We decided to focus on the middle model first – for several reasons. Firstly, after a year-long break, the flagship processor from the Korean company, Samsung Exynos, has returned, and many of you are probably wondering if you should be afraid of this chipset. Secondly, this is an extremely interesting model – today, smartphones with such great capabilities rarely appear on the market. And thirdly, the price. It has almost the same characteristics as the Galaxy S24 Ultra, but costs less.

Samsung’s strategy regarding high-quality models is very ambitious. They strive to meet all the needs of their fans by releasing a flagship lineup in three variants. The smartphones in the Samsung Galaxy Plus series of each generation are supposed to prove that they are worthy of comparison with their older sibling in the series – the Ultra.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

Last year’s transition to the Samsung Galaxy S23+ went very well, so this year the Samsung Galaxy S24+ repeats this strategy and ambition, but increasingly approaching the Ultra model thanks to the return of Exynos and a small revolution due to the introduction of Galaxy AI.

So, I suggest you get comfortable and familiarize yourself with our review of the Samsung Galaxy S24+.

Real also: Samsung Galaxy S23 Plus review: A plus for size and battery

Positioning and price of Samsung Galaxy S24+

The Samsung Galaxy S24+ is the latest addition to the prestigious Galaxy S family, offering a balanced compromise between the standard versions of the Galaxy S24 and the Galaxy S24 Ultra with exceptional features and functionality. This device is from the upper segment of the market and provides users with an optimal combination of high performance, compact size, and elegant design that does not disappoint expectations. With a range of absolutely competitive technical specifications, the Galaxy S24+ is capable of attracting those seeking a balance between power and manageability without compromising on quality.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

The Samsung Galaxy S24+ is clearly superior to its highly praised predecessor in several aspects. It has a slightly larger battery, a better screen, improved design, a more attractive starting price, and is expected to receive updates for up to 7 years. The question remains whether this smartphone will be as popular as its predecessor.

What sets the Samsung Galaxy S24+ apart? Let’s start with the 6.7-inch Dynamic AMOLED 2X display with a QHD+ resolution of 3120×1440, which this time features an adaptive refresh rate ranging from 1 to 120 Hz. The SoC is a 10-core Exynos 2400 system with Xclipse 940 graphics. Regarding memory, users get 12 GB of RAM and either 256 GB or 512 GB of built-in storage (UFS 4.0). Additionally, we have a larger battery – 4900 mAh, although it still charges at up to 45 W. It’s worth noting that the camera setup remains unchanged compared to last year’s model – we still have a set of 50 MP (main) + 10 MP (telephoto) + 12 MP (ultra-wide) on the rear panel and a 12 MP selfie camera. And let’s not forget about the built-in Galaxy AI features – they are what truly distinguish this device.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

- Advertisement -

The Samsung Galaxy S24+ is available in two configurations. Yes, for the new Samsung with 256 GB of UFS 4.0 storage and 12 GB of RAM, you’ll have to pay from $1230. But if you want to get the Galaxy S24+ with 512 GB of storage, supplemented with 12 GB of RAM, then you’ll have to fork out from $1340.

Let’s figure out together what technical specifications and innovative features make this flagship smartphone a smart choice for mobile technology enthusiasts.

Technical specifications of the Samsung Galaxy S24+

  • Screen: 6.7″ Dynamic AMOLED 2X, QHD+ resolution 3120×1440, 513 ppi, maximum screen brightness 2600 nits, refresh rate 120 Hz
  • Processor: 10-core Samsung Exynos 2400 (1×3.2 GHz Cortex-X4 & 2×2.9 GHz Cortex-A720 & 3×2.6 GHz Cortex-A720 and 4×1.95 GHz Cortex-A520)
  • Graphics processor: Xclipse 940 based on AMD RDNA 3 architecture
  • Operating system: Android 14, One UI 6.1 shell
  • Memory: 256 GB UFS 4.0
  • RAM: 12 GB
  • Rear cameras:
    • 50 megapixels, f/1.8, 24 mm (wide-angle), 1/1.56″, 1.0 μm, Dual Pixel PDAF, OIS
    • 10 megapixels, f/2.4, 67 mm (telephoto), 1/3.94″, 1.0 μm, PDAF, OIS, 3x optical zoom
    • 12 megapixels, f/2.2, 13 mm, 120˚ (ultra-wide), 1/2.55″ 1.4µm, Super Steady video
  • Front camera: 12MP, f/2.2, 26mm (wide-angle), Dual Pixel PDAF
  • Video: Rear camera: LED flash, auto-HDR, panorama, 8K@24/30fps, 4K@30/60fps, 1080p@30/60/240fps, HDR10+, stereo sound recording, EIS gyroscope; Front camera: Dual video call, Auto-HDR, HDR10+, 4K@30/60fps, 1080p@30fps4K@30/60fps, 1080p@30fps
  • Battery: 4900 mAh
  • Charging: 45W wired, PD3.0, 65% in 30 minutes, 15W wireless (Qi/PMA), 4.5W reverse wireless
  • Connectivity: 5G, LTE/LTE-A, 3G, GSM, WiFi 6E, 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax, 2.4 + 5 + 6 GHz, Bluetooth 5.3, NFC, Google Pay, Navigation: GPS, A-GPS, Beidou, Galileo, GLONASS
  • Sensors: accelerometer, barometer, Hall effect, magnetometer, light, proximity, gyroscope, fingerprint scanner
  • Additional features: IP68 dust and water resistance (up to 1.5 m for 30 minutes), Dual SIM Standby – support for two SIM cards
  • Body: display – Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2, frame – aluminum
  • Connectors: USB Type-C – 1 pc, nanoSIM card slot – 2 pcs
  • Dimensions: 75.9 × 158.5 × 7.7 mm
  • Weight: 196 g
  • Available configurations: 12+256 GB, 12+512 GB.

Read also: Samsung Galaxy S23 review: the cool compact flagship

What’s in the package?

It should be noted that I had a technical sample for review – not for sale, so there was no standard box. However, besides the Samsung Galaxy S24+ itself, I received the main elements of the package. I got a USB cable, a tool for ejecting the SIM card tray, and documents – a warranty card and a user manual.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

Like all Galaxy S24 flagships, the charging cable here has a USB Type-C connector at both ends. The accessory is of decent quality and has a flat cable, so I wouldn’t worry about it tangling accidentally. There is no adapter included, so you’ll have to purchase one separately. Therefore, the retail package is as minimalist as last year’s.

Read also: Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra smartphone review: An unprecedented flagship

Design: turning back to the (not so) distant past

Gradually, Samsung is moving towards designing its flagship models to be recognizable and highly appreciated in their own right. If a few generations ago, this line was defined by the curvature of the screen and the rear part of the device, in recent years, the company’s approach has been to seek a compact design, a body comfortable to hold, and high-quality materials. However, this does not mean abandoning symbols such as the configuration of the rear camera.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

There’s no denying that the Samsung Galaxy S24+ looks pretty much the same as the Galaxy S23+. Looking at the photos, you can easily get confused. Don’t worry – there are changes, and they are positive. In addition to minimal changes in size and weight, the side bezel is now flat, and in terms of design, it resembles the “sandwich” design that Apple introduced long ago with the launch of the iPhone. 4. In my opinion, the grip of the phone is less pleasant because of this, but this is a matter of individual preference. Both the glass protecting the screen and the back cover are also flat.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

Samsung made the right choice by creating a compact lineup of smartphones with a flat screen: the new Galaxy S24+ is convenient, sturdy, and attractive.

In other words, the new Samsung Galaxy S24+ completely replicates the model of the previous generation, emphasizing the use of a flat panel, which may come as a surprise to those who are several generations removed from the release of high-end smartphones from the Asian giant.

- Advertisement -

Samsung Galaxy S24+

This year, we are once again faced with a smartphone featuring a large screen, but with a very compact and elegant design that feels pleasant to hold. Its thickness is just 7.7 mm, and it weighs 196 g, making it almost imperceptible in daily use.

The smartphone feels very comfortable in the hand, despite its quite large dimensions. Surprisingly, the dimensions of 158.5×75.9×7.7 mm make the device convenient, which slightly surprised me considering that it is a smartphone with a “Plus” designation in its name. The weight of 196 g, however, during use, felt much lighter to me. This is probably due to its excellent balance and weight distribution.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

Visually, Samsung Galaxy S24+ is almost bezel-less, which enhances the feeling of immersion in the screen, as befits a high-end smartphone. The aluminum sides of the same tone as the rest of the body integrate perfectly both visually and to the touch.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

It’s positive that the material used for the frame has changed – it’s now reinforced aluminum (second-generation Armor Aluminium). Granted, it’s not titanium like the Galaxy S24 Ultra, but in my opinion, there’s absolutely nothing to complain about. Both the front and rear panels are covered with a layer of chemically strengthened Corning Gorilla Glass Victus of the second generation. Fans of flat smartphones will be thrilled because the shape hearkens back to previous generations of Apple phones. The flat, sharp edges also look very good here, and the built-in buttons work crisply and predictably. The device’s body conforms to the IP68 water and dust resistance standard. This means that the device can be submerged in water up to 1.5 meters deep for 30 minutes.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

The rest of the physical elements and those related to the design of the Galaxy S24+ are also top-notch. The physical control elements have perfect touch, movement, and activation; they are well-positioned, and the rear cameras barely protrude beyond the construction, so they don’t interfere when touching or using the device on a flat surface.

The side buttons are ergonomically placed at a convenient height. On the right side, you’ll find the power/lock button and the volume adjustment button.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

There is a speaker on top.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

The left side is completely empty, which provides a better feel when using a smartphone.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

At the bottom, there’s the SIM card tray, the USB-C port for charging, and a high-quality main stereo speaker with Dolby Atmos. The headphone jack is absent, but the user of this new flagship will most likely opt for Bluetooth headphones.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

Overall, the ergonomics and button placement are quite standard. Developers have been striving for minimalism and compactness lately, and that’s exactly what we get here. It’s possible to operate the smartphone with one hand, but it may not always be comfortable. After all, the S24+ is a relatively large mobile device.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

The ultrasonic fingerprint scanner is located on the screen at a convenient height. It works very well, and there have been no issues with unlocking the smartphone at any time. Similarly, facial recognition works even in low light conditions.

Read also: Samsung Galaxy Fold5 review: updated, flagship, foldable

A beautiful screen that you want to use

In the Galaxy S lineup, each mobile device differs by a small number of elements. An example of this is the screen of the Samsung Galaxy S24+ compared to the Ultra model. The older model has a screen that is only 0.1 inches larger, although the difference is more noticeable due to the curved edges of the Galaxy S24+. All other elements of its technical specifications are identical.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

The Samsung Galaxy S24+ boasts an excellent 6.7-inch display with a QHD+ resolution of 3120×1440 pixels and an adaptive refresh rate of up to 120 Hz. With an aspect ratio of 19.5:9, it offers a remarkable 513 ppi. In my opinion, this is an outstanding result. The panel is, of course, a Dynamic AMOLED 2X with a fantastic maximum brightness level of 2600 nits, surpassing the already high figure of the previous model (1750 nits).

Samsung Galaxy S24+

By default, the screen refresh rate is set to 60 Hz. You can leave it in this mode or switch to adaptive mode, where the refresh rate will vary from 1 Hz to 120 Hz. The result is smoothness befitting a high-class smartphone, aided by the excellent performance of the processor, as we will see later on.

The screen of the Samsung Galaxy S24+ stands at the top among the manufacturer’s mobile phones both in terms of resolution and maximum brightness, with a rating of over 2500 nits. Thanks to this, the screen looks perfect even in bright sunlight. You will also be very pleased with the panel’s resolution, which equals the resolution of the Ultra model, bringing these models closer together. With good calibration, incredible image clarity, and maximum brightness, the screen remains readable in any conditions.

Samsung Galaxy S24+The quality of the displayed content lives up to expectations – it’s simply excellent. Vibrant colors, true black, high resolution, and perfect viewing angles – all these describe the screen of the Samsung Galaxy S24+. Content on the OLED display looks fantastic; thanks to the QHD+ resolution, it’s incredibly sharp, achieves excellent brightness, and has received high marks for its very wide color gamut in testing.

In the laboratory, we measured an impressive maximum brightness of the phone – 1696 cd/m², which is one of the best indicators among current flagships.

The maximum brightness has increased again, allowing for very comfortable usage even in bright sunlight. However, there is one caveat – you need to either enable automatic brightness or select “higher brightness” in the settings. Otherwise, even if you move the brightness slider to the maximum, we won’t achieve good brightness in bright sunlight.

I also liked that we have the option to choose between “Natural” or “Vivid” calibration, as well as adjust the white balance, but only in the second mode, which is the standard one.

Read also: Samsung Galaxy S23 FE smartphone review: Almost a flagship

Great stereo sound

The sound of the Samsung Galaxy S24+ perfectly complements the excellent impressions from the screen. The dual speakers provide very powerful sound without the risk of annoying saturation, with a fairly good balance between frequencies and some bass enhancement. This is highly appreciated in devices of this type. I was pleasantly surprised by the stereo speakers of the Samsung Galaxy S24+. Whether you’re watching a video on YouTube or listening to singles on Spotify, the sound is almost always perfect. The developers have managed to install and calibrate truly one of the best stereo speakers.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

They also received support for Dolby Atmos immersive sound technology. In the phone’s settings, there is an option to adjust various types of equalizers. The absence of a 3.5mm audio jack is compensated by the excellent speakers. Although, for some, this may be an issue. In that case, you’ll need to consider using an adapter.

Read also: Samsung Odyssey G7 G70B Gaming Monitor Review

Return of the prodigal… Exynos

And now let’s move on to perhaps the biggest controversy regarding this year’s “Galaxy” lineup, which is the processor. The particularity of the new Samsung Galaxy S24+ is the return to its configuration of Samsung’s own processors. Thus, one of the classic wars of recent years in the consumer electronics industry is revived.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

The thing is, Exynos doesn’t have a very good reputation in our country, especially compared to the top-tier Snapdragons that were equipped in the Galaxy S23 family smartphones in Europe. Is this really the case? Yes and no – it all depended on the model and the specific processor – for example, I couldn’t complain about the Exynos 2100 in the Galaxy S21+.

But let’s get back to our review. The productivity is ensured by the Samsung Exynos 2400 chipset, manufactured using a 4nm process. The processor consists of one Cortex-X4 core at 3.2 GHz, two Cortex-A720 cores at 2.9 GHz, three Cortex-A720 cores at 2.6 GHz, and four Cortex-A520 cores at 1.95 GHz. Graphic visualization is provided by the Xclipse 940 GPU based on the AMD RDNA3 architecture. It’s a reliable configuration that competes well with the top-tier Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 processor in the Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

The new Samsung SoC on the Ukrainian market is accompanied by 12 GB of RAM as the only option. This is another improvement compared to the previous model, which gives us more confidence in the device’s longevity.

Thanks to this hardware setup, the system runs smoothly in everyday use, and the overall experience is quite satisfactory in all aspects of using Samsung’s new flagship smartphone.

For the Samsung Galaxy S24+ in Ukraine, storage options range from 256 GB to 512 GB. The Ultra model offers an additional option of 1 TB of built-in storage. With 256 GB of built-in memory available in the test device, approximately 211 GB is usable. It’s worth noting that this memory cannot be expanded using a microSD card.

The Samsung Galaxy S24+ features a dual SIM card slot and supports the eSIM standard, along with full compatibility with modern mobile communication standards up to 5G. Other modules include Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 5.3, USB-C 3.2, and NFC. Navigation is supported by GPS, Glonass, Beidou, Galileo, and QZSS. It’s a state-of-the-art flagship with the latest technical specifications and functional capabilities.

Samsung Galaxy S24+In everyday use, the smartphone performs excellently, even under heavy loads during gaming and multitasking, without experiencing “fatigue.” However, this doesn’t mean that throttling doesn’t occur. Unfortunately, it does occur and exceeds 30%. Subsequently, the hardware heats up to a temperature that becomes uncomfortable to hold. The maximum temperature of the body that I measured was 47°C near the main camera.

It’s very noticeable when holding the device in your hands. Moreover, it leads to a significant drop in performance in just a few minutes. So to speak, the good old Exynos.

Read also: Samsung Galaxy SmartTag2 Tracker Review

Android 14 with One UI 6.1

The Samsung Galaxy S24+ runs on Android 14 with the latest version of its One UI overlay, version 6.1. I won’t delve into the details of the minor improvements this overlay brings compared to what we got a year ago in version 5.1. Most of all, users are interested in the artificial intelligence features, namely Galaxy AI, which I’ll discuss in detail in the next dedicated section.

Samsung Galaxy S24+It’s worth noting that the system itself runs very smoothly and stably, with minimal visual changes. The interface style remains the same. There are plenty of customization options, allowing us to tailor the appearance and functionality to our needs easily. A plus is the absence of pre-installed third-party apps, except for Google (plus the Facebook app). Thanks to this, everything looks neat, and we can quickly install the additional apps we need from Google Play or the Galaxy Store. I was surprised that after the initial setup, many system apps, such as the gallery, have “grey” icons, and their download starts only after connecting the smartphone to Wi-Fi.

Samsung promises up to 7 years of security patch support and Android system updates for this model, so we can expect updates until 2031.

Read alsо: Samsung Galaxy Buds FE Review: Most Affordable TWS Earbuds from Company

The star of the review is Galaxy AI.

Last year, the most hyped feature was Nightography in the Samsung Galaxy S23 camera. This year, the camera took a back seat, and the biggest star became Galaxy AI. The Galaxy S24 series is currently the only one where Samsung’s artificial intelligence is available. However, it is expected that Galaxy AI will be available, including in the first half of this year, for smartphones in the Galaxy S23 series. However, if you have a Galaxy S22 series smartphone or older, you may not even dream of Galaxy AI.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

Returning to Galaxy AI itself. In fact, it’s a set of features that the manufacturer has labeled in the menu as “Advanced Intelligent Tools.” For clarity, I’ll first describe them point by point as they appear in the settings menu:

  • Phone (real-time voice call translator). Its task is to translate “live” phone conversations. We can choose one of the 13 supported languages and select whether to translate in text or voice mode. The idea is great, but unfortunately, the implementation leaves much to be desired. I tried translating from English to Polish. Errors often occur not only in the translation itself (which would be acceptable), but also in identifying the words being spoken. Moreover, the translator may sometimes add some incomprehensible sentences to the dialogue.
  • Samsung Keyboard (message translation in selected apps, as well as spelling and grammar suggestions). The function works well, although there are, of course, translation errors, especially if there are spelling mistakes in the original.
  • Translator (live conversation translation). The function works in offline mode; you just need to download the language pack you’re interested in. It works quite well and can certainly be useful in many cases, especially when traveling abroad. Of course, there are errors, but if you speak clearly, they won’t be a problem in communication.
  • Samsung Notes (automatically format notes, create summaries, translate, correct spelling and grammar, and create covers for notes). Everything works fine, except for creating covers from notes. I couldn’t access this function. Yes, I could create covers, but I didn’t see images of the covers created by AI. Spelling correction and note summarization work very well. This latter feature is very useful, especially when working with long texts.
  • Voice Recorder (transcribing recordings into text and creating summaries). After recording audio, we can convert it into text and create a brief summary. Although the summaries are generated well, there are often errors in transcribing speech into text. It’s better to try to speak loudly and clearly. When there are background noises and whispers, the function becomes almost useless (too many bugs).
  • Samsung Internet (website summary + translation). This function only works in the Samsung browser, which is a bit limiting, but on the other hand, it is also intended to promote the manufacturer’s browser. It’s worth taking advantage of because the page summary works very well and helps to quickly read the content, especially long articles. This is a big plus for Samsung.
  • Photo Editor (cutting out parts of photos and characters, changing their size, and creating a background using AI). In my opinion, this is just a “toy,” but I noticed that many people really liked it. By tapping with your finger, you can select, for example, a person in the photo, shrink them, and the missing part of the photo will be generated by AI. The function may give the impression of working in standalone mode, but ultimately it’s not – when saving and generating a background, a message appears prompting you to connect to the Internet. How do the effects look? I’ll say this – the function works without problems, and the effects are better or worse depending on the photo. It definitely won’t replace Photoshop because some flaws are almost always noticeable. In addition, the photo editor also offers a whole range of other interesting features, including enhancing the appearance of photos and the “object eraser” option.

The mentioned features are available in the settings menu, but there are also other secondary ones “built-in” to the system, such as the ability to choose AI-generated wallpapers or slow down videos at any time (the AI then generates intermediate frames, creating the impression of smooth slow-motion).

Samsung Galaxy S24+

As you can see, some functions work better, some worse, and regarding voice functions, I conducted tests with various people, mostly in quiet rooms. If there is a lot of background noise, the translation efficiency will decrease. Most functions require an internet connection. This is worth keeping in mind.

Read also: Samsung Galaxy Flip5 vs Motorola Razr 40 Ultra: Battle of two yokozunas

High quality Samsung battery

One of the advantages of choosing a smartphone from the Samsung Galaxy S series is the confidence that the battery will never let us down. The new Samsung Galaxy S24+ confirms this rule.

Determining the exact battery life of a mobile device that supports such a wide range of usage scenarios is extremely challenging. The tests I conducted this week with the Samsung Galaxy S24+ confirm this, offering me very different numbers depending on the usage approach I applied.

Samsung Galaxy S24+During the testing of the Samsung Galaxy S24+, there were days when the screen-on time exceeded 10 hours, especially when extensively using productivity tests. However, on other days, this time remained below 4 hours. On average, considering a more mixed and diverse usage of the phone, we can talk about 5 to 6 hours of screen-on time per day, thereby maintaining similar performance to the previous generation.

Another piece of information to assess the battery life: in the PCMark 3.0 test, the Samsung Galaxy S24+ lasted only 14 hours and 16 minutes.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

The battery has a capacity of 4900 mAh, supports fast charging up to 45W, as well as wireless and reverse charging. It’s also worth noting that the smartphone is shipped without a standard charger.

Nevertheless, charging the Samsung Galaxy S24+ happens very quickly. In my tests, from 10% to 50%, the Samsung Galaxy S24+ charged the battery in just 23 minutes, and a full charge was achieved in one hour, as indicated in the graph.

Read also: Samsung Galaxy Watch6 Classic review: a watch for all occasions

Are the cameras the same as last year?

Certainly, the Samsung Galaxy S24+ may not overshadow the stunning photographic capabilities of the Ultra model. However, this should not diminish its value, as it likely offers much more than what the general public would expect even from a high-end device.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

Its main camera is powerful, featuring a 50-megapixel primary sensor with f/1.8 aperture, optical stabilization, and a sensor size of 1/1.56″. It is accompanied by a 13mm wide-angle camera with a 12MP sensor and a sensor size of 1/2.55″, which turned out to be the weakest link. However, the fun 3x telephoto lens with a 10MP sensor and a sensor size of 1/3.94 inches is capable of making you forget about everything else.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

As for the primary interface, we find the classic offering from the Korean company. It provides a very fast shooting experience with plenty of options and shooting modes at your fingertips.

Let’s begin the photographic test of the Samsung Galaxy S24+ with the main camera. By default, we shoot at a resolution of 12 MP, although we always have the option to capture slightly more detail and have the ability to crop the image without losing quality if we decide to use the 50 MP sensor.

This option is fully available on the main camera screen, and although shooting is not as fast as in the 12 MP mode, the delay is barely noticeable. This makes it a shooting mode that opens up new possibilities. However, as I mentioned earlier, it does not offer a significant increase in fine details compared to the 12 MP mode. In any case, the loss of sharpness around the edges is very noticeable in both shooting modes.

Shooting at 12 MP resolution using the main camera is more effective than the best point-and-shoot cameras. You can be confident that the images you capture will look great on the smartphone screen (with a tendency towards warmth and greater saturation) compared to when you view them later on your laptop screen.

Fine detailing is where we can delve deeper into shooting with the main camera. And it matters for those seeking more from mobile phone photography. Because in most other aspects, the results are outstanding for the consumer market, with the right dynamic range, sharpness, and certain inevitable flaws with this sensor. Primarily, such as defects at the edges or occasionally slightly uncontrolled HDR.At night, the main sensor can capture a lot of light, sometimes even appearing somewhat artificial. It keeps other parameters under control, especially strong and concentrated light. Logically, there is a lack of sharpness and aspects that need improvement, but they are within an acceptable range. Some of them, such as edge definition, can sometimes be addressed with the night mode.

Apart from the main camera, the Samsung Galaxy S24+ also features both a wide-angle lens and a 3x zoom, offering us creative possibilities and plenty of enjoyment. At least in terms of the 3x zoom, which provides very useful results, especially in good lighting conditions. At night, however, defects such as white balance errors become more noticeable.

Other scaling parameters, all digital, are useful in extreme cases, providing very decent results at the smartphone screen level for up to 10x zoom.

The wide-angle lens already shows more shortcomings in sharpness, which become evident as soon as you get a little closer. However, in other aspects, such as color reproduction, there is hardly any difference compared to the main camera, and some manufacturers would find it difficult to address this issue.

Portrait mode photos usually come out almost flawless, and what’s more, after shooting, we can adjust the level of background blur and choose which object will be in focus. It’s a very useful feature that can sometimes change the situation. Moreover, besides adjustable blur, we can also use various built-in filters.

ORIGINAL PHOTOS AND VIDEOS HERE

The front selfie camera features a 12-megapixel sensor and optics with an aperture of f/2.2, which, again, remains the same as last year. The photo quality is really good, not only in portrait mode. Here we have made progress compared to last year’s release. This is actually thanks to the software, but the important thing is the final result.

The Samsung Galaxy S24+ can record video up to 8K at 30 frames per second, but it’s better to choose UHD at 60 frames per second. Firstly, because the likelihood of viewing content on an 8K TV or monitor is low, and secondly, by selecting 8K resolution, we can only record using the main lens. By choosing UHD at 60 frames per second, we can decide which lens to use before starting recording. If we lower our expectations to UHD at 30 frames per second, we can also switch between lenses during recording.

Additionally, in the settings, we can choose between the H.264 and H.265 codecs. Opting for the latter, we can also select the option to increase the video bitrate. Then, a minute of footage recorded in UHD at 60 fps takes… 1 GB.

We can shoot slow-motion videos in UHD resolution at 120 frames per second. That’s great, but the image will be much darker compared to regular recording. It’s worth keeping that in mind.

The camera menu also includes a “video pro” mode, which allows you to manually set recording parameters. Slow-motion video and HDR10+ in additional settings were not forgotten either.

Read also: Samsung Galaxy Flip5 review: There’s simply no better foldable smartphone

Conclusions

I spent two weeks with the new Samsung Galaxy S24+, and the whole time I asked myself, “Is it worth choosing it among the trio of flagship devices from the Korean company?”

The thing is, the Samsung Galaxy S24+ is indeed a very good smartphone. Even very good, and noticeably better and cheaper than its predecessor (comparing prices on the day of release). Of course, it has some drawbacks, but they are very few. However, in my opinion, some of the Galaxy AI features simply need updating. Don’t get me wrong – AI features are indeed very interesting, useful, and promising, but some of them need refinement. However, I believe that with further updates, the situation will improve because the manufacturer will certainly not spare resources for investment in AI.

Samsung Galaxy S24+

Is the smartphone worth its price, and do I recommend buying it? Yes, and there’s hardly any room for debate here. It’s the best fully-equipped device offering excellent visual experiences. The photography aspect is also improved. Is it worth upgrading to this device from its immediate predecessor? If you’re swayed by the larger screen with significantly higher pixel density, better battery, and new exterior design – definitely yes.

If you’re a fan of Samsung smartphones or looking to buy a top-notch Android device with modern features without breaking the bank, then the Samsung Galaxy S24+ would be an excellent choice.

Read also:

Samsung Galaxy S24+ review: a proven formula for success

Review ratings
Design
10
Materials, build quality
10
Ergonomics
10
Screen
10
Performance
9
Cameras
10
Software
10
Sound
10
Battery life
9
Price
8
If you're a fan of Samsung smartphones or looking to buy a top-notch Android device with modern features without breaking the bank, then the Samsung Galaxy S24+ would be an excellent choice.
Yuri Svitlyk
Yuri Svitlyk
Son of the Carpathian Mountains, unrecognized genius of mathematics, Microsoft "lawyer", practical altruist, levopravosek
- Advertisement -
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
If you're a fan of Samsung smartphones or looking to buy a top-notch Android device with modern features without breaking the bank, then the Samsung Galaxy S24+ would be an excellent choice.Samsung Galaxy S24+ review: a proven formula for success